WhatsApp will force you to accept its new conditions to chat with companies

Technology

R. Alonso

Madrid

Updated:

Keep

WhatsApp keep mulling over its privacy policy. In just a few months, the messaging application owned by Facebook has gone from forcing the user to accept them in order to use the platform, to leaving the decision completely in their hands. Now, according to the specialized portal WABetaInfo, the platform is preparing a new update of the conditions. In it, Internet users will be announced that they will be able to use the ‘app’ to communicate with family and friends, exactly the same as always, without having to share their data with companies, which is what Mark Zuckerberg’s company was looking for with the change. However, those who choose this option they will not be able to use WhatsApp to communicate with businesses that use Facebook services.

It should be remembered that WhatsApp, like Facebook and Instagram, allows companies to use its platform to communicate with customers. Now, according to the information from WABetaInfo, which indicates that the change will come via a future update, this will no longer be possible if the Internet user does not ‘click’ on the ‘Accept’ option in the new conditions.

As we said, WhatsApp has been making changes to its policies regarding the sharing of Internet user data with companies since the official announcement, in January. At first, the application pointed out that it would be mandatory to accept them in order to continue using the service. It should be borne in mind that in Spain, as in the rest of the European Union countries, the change had no effect on privacy, as recognized by the messaging application itself. And it is that the RGPD does not allow it.

At first, the application even set a deadline to accept the change: February 8, which soon after ended up being May 25. When the time came, WhatsApp affirmed that those accounts that did not accept the new conditions would gradually lose functionalities until they were rendered useless. Finally, at the beginning of June, it decided to leave the final decision to the user. In addition, he could continue using the ‘app’ with total normality regardless of what he decided to do.

“Given the recent discussion with various authorities and privacy experts, we want to make it clear that we currently have no plans to limit the functionality of WhatsApp for those who have not yet accepted the update. Instead, we will continue to remind users of the update from time to time, as well as when people choose to use relevant optional functions, such as contacting a company that receives Facebook support, “WhatsApp explained in a statement sent to ABC at the time. .

See them
comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.